Eclectic Newsletter: 19

Hey!

Today will be a quick one. I bring three interesting resources and, as an off-topic, a documentary about one of my favourite games of the last months—Immortality.

  • The Real Reason Why Executives Don’t Want you Involved

  • The Mindset That Kills Product Thinking

  • Tech debt metaphor maximalism

While I recommend the three links, the last one about tech debt, by apenwarr, is, undoubtedly, a superb and insightful exploration of the original meaning of the tech debt metaphor.

On a personal note, I’m still interviewing and, at the same time, studying about microservice architectures. Received a frustrating rejection after a long hiring process. It was frustrating because I messed up the last code interview due to anxiety. My brain couldn’t think straight, and an easy thing turned into a challenge that I was unable to finish. In fact, after the interview I solved with ease the problem, once I was relaxed and calmed, which proved to me, it wasn’t a technical issue.

On a random note, this week an owl appeared in the garden. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a real one, just a statue, but pretty realistic and probably full size. Does it have a use, is it just for decoration? I guess we’ll never know. My guess is that it’s there to scare the sunbathing crows.

Off-topic

Immortality is an interactive film video game. It’s not your typical game. In the game you’ll be going through footage, being able to fast-forward, rewind, and click on almost everything in the footage that will take you to another scene where that object or person is present. That would be just about the whole interactivity of it.

The entire idea of it is to piece together the footage and decipher, as if you were a detective, what actually happened to Marissa Marcel. Marissa was a fictional actress who went missing and who starred in three movies that were never released.

I didn’t think I was going to like it as much as I did, but the plot is great, and you never get tired of going back and forth thought the clips.

Join the conversation

or to participate.